Success can be skeptical….It raises beyond the far boundaries of Human imagination…We keep running behind it only to realize later that “SUCCESS”-this seven letter word does not come easy to anyone…I realized it quite late in my life…But the most important thing is that Experiences teach us Things that No Book In this world can ever do…

I would not say,that I was some great scholar or genius(or anything comparable to Einstein or Newton material)…But having the required percentile for Science Group had actually narrowed down all my options…I was confused…Utterly confused about what to do about my Life…I was on absolute dead end…Having passed out from the safe confines of School life (which I still miss very much…Because School was like Second home to me:( )…Suddenly I found myself in world with all unfamiliar faces…Before I could register in the shock of being hassled into the Science group(which I absolutely loathed)…Two years were gone…I was so lost in those two years trying to comprehend with the changes in my SO-CALLED-NEW-COLLEGE-LIFE,that I almost forgot what studies meant(literally speaking,I lost my mind)…The only thing that I learned in those years was what PEER PRESSURE IS…Trying to stick my nose behind the most talented and biggest Geniuses from the city…I could not carve my own niche….I felt like outcast…

I was constantly compared to the Innumerable brains in my class…I need to say this,that Comparison in no way is encouraging…They just make you ponder all the more about your capabilities and make you wish that you were not what you are…But were someone extraordinary…Someone out of this world…You wish for that magic wand which will swipe out all your problems with one stroke…But reality strikes in hard way…Success counts on HARD WORK…No magic can complement our own ability…The only problem is that we as individuals are not aware of our own abilities…We give too easily to peer pressure..try to mold ourselves like the others….In this process…We lose the “Real Person” that we are…We disappoint not others but ourselves!!!!

Hmm…so the completion of those two years did not bring joy..But only bought in more agony…The agony of my FUTURE PROSPECT…Because I was at loggerheads…Now I had two options…Either to listen to what my parents had selected for me or decide my own future course on my own…But did I have the guts to stick to my own guns…The worst thing in life is being uncertain about the “Things that you REALLY WANT in your life” and “Things that you don’t”…I too was unsure…Of whether I should listen to my parents or my Heart…I choose the course which excited me…..rather the one that my parents had chosen….But only making the right choice doesn’t count….You need to make things work….That was where I went wrong….I thought my responsibility ended with taking the decision….What a Fool I was!!!!

Three years down the line…Again I proved to be utter failure….What utter shame,my parents thought….They found this opportunity very enticing to point out…that I had made the decision of choosing profession that they never thought was good enough for me…..Again I did not know where to head from here….Life seemed a puzzle…where I had complicated things for myself…I did not understand the intriguing complexities of the Book called “LIFE”….Pondering around with questions in mind…..with no answers….I sat on my the rooftop….Staring at the night sky….and  looked for around for answers to all the questions in my life….

That was when I realized that the answers to my questions was right there hanging majestically in the sky…..THE FULL MOON…from the time I was a kid,I had been enchanted with the beauty of the moon…But I never knew that the moon held answers to my questions…There it was shining in the sky in all its glory….mesmerizing me as always…

As a child…I had always fantasized about the Moon…..Like any normal kid…I would keep staring the at the moon from the window while traveling and wonder….Why is the Moon following are trail???……At times,I used to ponder why the moon keeps on becoming small and small until it finally vanished from the sky ….There might be quite scientific lot of scientific reasons available for these childish questions….But the only fact that has not changed in all these years is that I still very much love the moon….The glow and beauty of the Full Moon is unprecedented….Nothing can stand up to it….May it is the best example of beauty which despite not being completely flawless…strikes out as the imagination of many poets and their poems…. But never had I thought that the moon stands as  the answer to dilemma….

I was just siting and watching the full moon glow in all its glory…when I suddenly remembered that just few days back the moon was just half the size it is now…But then now it has grown to its full size….This just made me realize that the two most important lessons in my life-

1)Nothing in this world is persistent forever….The moon has to complete 14 days cycle to regain its past beauty once it passes its last quarter phase and ends up being invisible on the New Moon….That day,the New Moon became a symbol of bad endings for me…..Like all good things do come to an end…all bad things do so…Whenever one way closes…another way opens up….There is no such thing as dead end in this world….Everything is just a periodical cycle going through phases of LIFE….

2) Secondly that like the Moon declines in shape and then comes back to its full size….Ups and downs are certain in life….But it will never be like that you will only have down fall….You can rise above the problems…Only that Inner Fire is needed…which will drive you all the  way to the top…..Determination is required….well,it is known fact that those few baby steps will always be required before you finally learn to  walk on your own…..

So,I got back again….Almost like the phoenix from the ashes…This time I was determined to make something out of my life….Two years down the line,now I’m PhD research scholar…. I’m thank full enough to myself for sticking to my own decisions rather than giving up to my parents choice or getting sucked up in peer pressure….I don’t regret my past decisions now…..Because finally I made something out of my life and made  my parents proud as well…Today,I’m at the place where I have the liberty to choose the way I wana live my life….So the only advise…(actually advise sounds so cliched)so I guess this should be a humble request more so over to all my friends….that please don’t ignore the pleas of your heart…No matter where you go…and what you do and what you are….Your heart will always know know what is right for you…Be unique in yourself…Never give to the ball game of Peer pressure….Do that which suits you best….Because in the end…Your so called friend from whom you may feel major complex may be the most popular or the most successful….But he or she can never be YOU!!!!!….LOVE THYSELF AND THE WORLD WILL RESPECT YOU!!!!!…..Because the world respects only those few who have the vision and the guts to stick to their own conventions and rules….:)

©Krishnaveni Balasubramanian

